Tag Archives: fiction

My February Reads Wrap-Up #reviews #5starreads #februaryreads

It has been a sad month around here. On February 6 my 10 year old boxer passed away unexpectedly. She was my walking partner, my reading buddy and an all around good dog! R.I.P. Ginger! Now on to the February … Continue reading

Posted in Wrap Up | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

February Audible Reads #audible #audiblebooks

Some of these are new authors and some are old favorites. I have never read a Walter Mosley book. I loved Devil in a Blue Dress. The narrator was over the top with different voices and such. I have only … Continue reading

Posted in Audible books | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

We Must Be Brave by Frances Liardet #historicalfiction #review

Overview Spanning the sweep of the twentieth century, We Must Be Brave explores the fierce love that we feel for our children and the power of that love to endure. Beyond distance, beyond time, beyond life itself. “This stirring debut … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

My Sister is Missing by Carissa Ann Lynch #review #thriller

Overview Reminiscent of Gillian Flynn’s Sharp Objects” Christina Kaye, award-winning author of Presumed Dead A twenty-year-old local mystery that has never been solved. A bone-chilling VHS tape depicting a horrific crime. Neighbors with something to hide. And a sister who is missing. Emily has to find … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

The Curiosities by Susan Gloss #fiction #review #womensfiction #tallpoppyauthor #tallpoppyblogger

Overview The follow-up to Susan Gloss’s successful debut, Vintage,is a charming mid-western story of artists, inspiration, and how to reinvent your life with purpose and flair. Nell Parker has a PhD in Art History, a loving husband named Josh, and a … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald #review #suspense #fiction

Overview In the vein of Big Little Lies and Reconstructing Amelia comes an emotionally charged domestic suspense novel about a mother unraveling the truth behind how her daughter became brain dead. And pregnant. A search for the truth. A lifetime … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , | 3 Comments

The Girls at 17 Swann Street by Yara Zgheib #review #fiction

Overview Yara Zgheib’s poetic and poignant debut novel is a haunting portrait of a young woman’s struggle with anorexia on an intimate journey to reclaim her life.   The chocolate went first, then the cheese, the fries, the ice cream. The … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , | 3 Comments