Tag Archives: fiction

The Arctic Fury by Greer Macallister #historicalfiction #review @sourcebooks

Overview A dozen women join a secret 1850s Arctic expedition—and a sensational murder trial unfolds when some of them don’t come back. Eccentric Lady Jane Franklin makes an outlandish offer to adventurer Virginia Reeve: take a dozen women, trek into … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

The Wicked Hour by Alice Blanchard @stmartinspress #fiction #review

Overview From the award-winning author of Trace of Evil, a detective dealing with the scars of her past must solve a seemingly unconnected string of murders, and face the impossible question of what to do when the killer may be hiding … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

November Escapes and Escapades #escapesandescapades #wrapup #5starreads

Well! November has come and gone! I did not do a whole lot this month. After a busy October, I decided to sit my happy little butt at home and work and read. So without further ado… Escapades I wanted … Continue reading

Posted in escapes and escapades, Reviews, Wrap Up | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Audible Reads for November #wrapup #audiobooks #audible #audiblebooks

Well! November is almost in the past! One step closer to 2021! I listened to three audible books this month and they were all very good in different ways! HERE WE GO! This was probably my least favorite of the … Continue reading

Posted in Audible books, Wrap Up | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

Tsarina by Ellen Alpsten @stmartinspress @EAlpsten_Author #historicalfiction #5star

Overview Makes Game of Thrones look like a nursery rhyme.” —Daisy Goodwin, New York Times bestselling author of The Fortune Hunter “[Alpsten] recounts this remarkable woman’s colourful life and times.” —Count Nikolai Tolstoy, historian and author Before there was Catherine … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Pretending by Holly Bourne – Excerpt and Book Spotlight

Pretending : A NovelHolly BourneOn Sale Date: November 17, 2020 9780778331506, 0778331504 Trade Paperback$17.99 USD416 pages Overview In this hilarious and heartbreaking debut novel perfect for fans of Fleabag, a woman struggling to move on after a traumatic relationship pretends … Continue reading

Posted in Book Spotlight, excerpt | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

Deathload by Cy Young – Excerpt and Book Spotlight

Deathload By Cy Young Genre: Thriller About the Book When his Marine son is killed by friendly fire in Desert Storm, ex-CIA agent and truck tycoon Vincent Fazio constructs two trucks and out of revenge, sends them on a destructive … Continue reading

Posted in Book Spotlight, excerpt | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Lowcountry Boughs of Holly by Susan M. Boyer @HeneryPress @susanmboyer #fiction #review #christmas

Overview It’s the most wonderful time of the year, but Private Investigator Liz Talbot is struggling to feel festive. She hasn’t seen her best friend, Colleen, in weeks and fears she may never see her again in this life. Meanwhile … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

The Forgotten Sister by Nicola Cornick #historicalfiction #review @harlequinbooks @nicolacornick

Overview In the tradition of the spellbinding historical novels of Philippa Gregory and Kate Morton comes a stunning story based on a real-life Tudor mystery, of a curse that echoes through the centuries and shapes two women’s destinies… 1560: Amy Robsart … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Comrade Koba by Robert Littell @overlookpress #historicalfiction #review

Overview A tight, captivating story of a naive child’s encounters with a Soviet dictator, the 20th novel by Robert Littell After the sudden death of his nuclear physicist father and the arrest of his mother during the Stalinist purge of … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment