Haven Point by Virginia Hume @Macmillanaudio @stmartinspress #audible #audiobook #audiobookreview #fiction

Overview

A sweeping debut novel about the generations of a family that spends summers in a seaside enclave on Maine’s rocky coastline, for fans of Elin Hilderbrand, Beatriz Williams, and Sarah Blake. 

1944: Maren Larsen is a blonde beauty from a small Minnesota farming town, determined to do her part to help the war effort – and to see the world beyond her family’s cornfields. As a cadet nurse at Walter Reed Medical Center, she’s swept off her feet by Dr. Oliver Demarest, a handsome Boston Brahmin whose family spends summers in an insular community on the rocky coast of Maine. 

1970: As the nation grapples with the ongoing conflict in Vietnam, Oliver and Maren are grappling with their fiercely independent seventeen-year-old daughter, Annie, who has fallen for a young man they don’t approve of. Before the summer is over a terrible tragedy will strike the Demarests – and in the aftermath, Annie vows never to return to Haven Point. 

2008: Annie’s daughter, Skye, has arrived in Maine to help scatter her mother’s ashes. Maren knows that her granddaughter inherited Annie’s view of Haven Point: despite the wild beauty and quaint customs, the regattas and clambakes and sing-alongs, she finds the place – and the people – snobbish and petty. But Maren also knows that Annie never told Skye the whole truth about what happened during that fateful summer. 

Over seven decades of a changing America, through wars and storms, betrayals and reconciliations, Virginia Hume’s Haven Point explores what it means to belong to a place, and to a family, which holds as tightly to its traditions as it does its secrets. 

A Macmillan Audio production from St. Martin’s Press

Review

Maren and Oliver meet during the war. Oliver is high society and Maren is a good ole country girl. But, these two fall in love and have a family. But, there are secrets and deceptions.

Maren struggles to be who her husband needs. Annie, their daughter, struggles to be what her father expects her to be. And Skye struggles to find out what went wrong with her mother’s past. Talk about a family saga with different timelines…however, the author did a great job with the different eras and characters.

There are a few places the story slowed down and just did not move very fast. But, there was something about the characters that kept me listening. Plus the secrets…when they start to unfold…well, you will just have to read it to find out!

The narrator, Cassandra Campbell, is wonderful. She handles all the voices and drama very well! I feel like if I had read this book, I would not have liked it as well. But, because I listened to it and the narrator did such a great job, it made the book more interesting.

Need a good family saga with a great setting…THIS IS IT! Grab your copy today!

I received this novel from the publisher for a honest review.

Purchase Here

Audible

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Chirp

About fredreeca

I am an avid reader and paper crafter. I am a mom of 2 children, 5 dogs and 1 cat. I am a huge St. Louis Cardinals Fan
This entry was posted in Audible books, Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s