Monthly Archives: February 2019

February Audible Reads #audible #audiblebooks

Some of these are new authors and some are old favorites. I have never read a Walter Mosley book. I loved Devil in a Blue Dress. The narrator was over the top with different voices and such. I have only … Continue reading

Posted in Audible books | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

We Must Be Brave by Frances Liardet #historicalfiction #review

Overview Spanning the sweep of the twentieth century, We Must Be Brave explores the fierce love that we feel for our children and the power of that love to endure. Beyond distance, beyond time, beyond life itself. “This stirring debut … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

My Sister is Missing by Carissa Ann Lynch #review #thriller

Overview Reminiscent of Gillian Flynn’s Sharp Objects” Christina Kaye, award-winning author of Presumed Dead A twenty-year-old local mystery that has never been solved. A bone-chilling VHS tape depicting a horrific crime. Neighbors with something to hide. And a sister who is missing. Emily has to find … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

Not for Nothing by Kathy Curtis #bookspotlight #authorinterview #memoir

An Interview with Kathy Curto Author of NOT FOR NOTHING: Glimpses Into a Jersey Girlhood There are some pretty personal insights in the pages of Not For Nothing. Did you seek your siblings’ permission to tell some of these stories? … Continue reading

Posted in Book Spotlight, Interview | Tagged , | Leave a comment

The Curiosities by Susan Gloss #fiction #review #womensfiction #tallpoppyauthor #tallpoppyblogger

Overview The follow-up to Susan Gloss’s successful debut, Vintage,is a charming mid-western story of artists, inspiration, and how to reinvent your life with purpose and flair. Nell Parker has a PhD in Art History, a loving husband named Josh, and a … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

Vincent Van Gogh – The Ambiguity of Insanity by Giuseppe Cafiero – Book Spotlight

Vincent Van Gogh – The Ambiguity of Insanity By Giuseppe Cafiero Genre: Meta Literature       Format: Audiobook                     My main interest in the life of Vincent Van Gogh is … Continue reading

Posted in Book Spotlight | Tagged | 2 Comments

The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald #review #suspense #fiction

Overview In the vein of Big Little Lies and Reconstructing Amelia comes an emotionally charged domestic suspense novel about a mother unraveling the truth behind how her daughter became brain dead. And pregnant. A search for the truth. A lifetime … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

The Girls at 17 Swann Street by Yara Zgheib #review #fiction

Overview Yara Zgheib’s poetic and poignant debut novel is a haunting portrait of a young woman’s struggle with anorexia on an intimate journey to reclaim her life.   The chocolate went first, then the cheese, the fries, the ice cream. The … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

The Military Wife by Laura Trentham #review #fiction #romance #giveaway

Overview A young widow embraces a second chance at life when she reconnects with those who understand the sacrifices made by American soldiers and their families in award-winning author Laura Trentham’s The Military Wife. Harper Lee Wilcox has been marking time … Continue reading

Posted in giveaway, Reviews | Tagged , , , , | 4 Comments

Forget You Know Me by Jessica Strawser #review #fiction

Overview The next “masterful” (Publishers Weekly) novel from “the gifted Jessica Strawser” (Adriana Trigiani), hailed as “immensely satisfying” (Kathleen Barber) and “that book you can’t put down” (Sally Hepworth). A video call between friends captures a shocking incident no one … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments