Category Archives: Reviews

All The Dangerous Things by Stacy Willingham @macmillanaudio #bookreview #booktwitter #audiobook #audiblebook

Overview “[Karissa] Vacker switches easily between the higher female voices and the lower male voices, creating recognizable and believable characters…. Listeners will enjoy a gripping and twisty story.” (AudioFile on Earphones Award winner A Flicker in the Dark) Following up her instant New … Continue reading

Posted in Audible books, Reviews | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

A Chance Inheritance by Carolyn Brown @sourcebookscasa #booktwitter #bookreview

Overview A Southern homecoming is always a little bitter, a whole lot sweet, and full of surprises. Upon inheriting their sassy grandmother’s home and family bait shop, cousins Lanie, Jodi, and Becky Cornell return to Catfish, Texas, looking for a … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

My Darkest Prayer by S. A. Cosby #booktwitter #audiobook #audiblebook @macmillanaudio #5stars

Overview Introduction read by the author. “Adam Lazarre-White’s narration is multifaceted. His deep, resonating voice creates an enveloping soundscape, and he fully embodies the unique main characters of Cosby’s latest crime novel.”—AudioFile on Razorblade Tears Award-winning New York Times bestselling author S. A. Cosby’s … Continue reading

Posted in Audible books, Reviews | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

The Blackhouse by Carole Johnstone

Overview From the author of the “dark and devious…beautifully written” (Stephen King) Mirrorland comes a richly atmospheric thriller set on an isolated Scottish island where nothing is as it seems and shocking twists lie around every corner. A remote village. … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , | 5 Comments

The Villa by Rachel Hawkins @macmillanaudio #booktwitter #audiobook #audiblebook #bookreview

Overview From New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins comes a deliciously wicked gothic suspense, set at an Italian villa with a dark history, for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware. As kids, Emily and Chess were inseparable. But … Continue reading

Posted in Audible books, Reviews | Tagged , , , , | 4 Comments

Picture in the Sand by Peter Blauner #booktwitter #bookreview @stmartinspress

Overview On rare occasions I read a book that reminds me of why I fell in love with storytelling in the first place. This is such a book.” —Stephen King Peter Blauner’s epic Picture in the Sand is a sweeping … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

The House in the Pines by Ana Reyes #booktwitter #bookreview #mystery #thriller @duttonbooks

Overview Armed with only hazy memories, a woman who long ago witnessed her friend’s sudden, mysterious death, and has since spent her life trying to forget, sets out to track down answers. What she uncovers, deep in the woods, is … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

December Escapes and Escapades #wrapup #bookreviews #escapesandescapades #decemberwrapup

Wow! Can y’all believe 2022 is over! Geez….it flew right on by. The older I get the quicker that occurs! We had a wonderful December! We took a quick trip to Knoxville, TN to meet up with some friends. This … Continue reading

Posted in escapes and escapades, Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , | 2 Comments

The Blackout Book Club by Amy Lynn Green #audiobook #audiblebook #booktwitter #bookreview @recordedbooks

Overview In 1942, an impulsive promise to her brother before he goes off to the European front puts Avis Montgomery in the unlikely position of head librarian in small-town Maine. Though she has never been much of a reader, when … Continue reading

Posted in Audible books, Reviews | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

No Strangers Here by Carlene O’Connor #audiobook #audiblebook #booktwitter #bookreview

Overview Set in Ireland’s striking, rugged countryside, USA Today bestselling author Carlene O’Connor’s dark, atmospheric new crime fiction series combines the eerie atmosphere of Tana French and Louise Penny with the compulsively taut plotting of Dervla McTiernan and Lucy Foley, as an … Continue reading

Posted in Audible books, Reviews | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment