The Villa by Rachel Hawkins @macmillanaudio #booktwitter #audiobook #audiblebook #bookreview

Overview

From New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins comes a deliciously wicked gothic suspense, set at an Italian villa with a dark history, for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware.

As kids, Emily and Chess were inseparable. But by their 30s, their bond has been strained by the demands of their adult lives. So when Chess suggests a girls trip to Italy, Emily jumps at the chance to reconnect with her best friend.

Villa Aestas in Orvieto is a high-end holiday home now, but in 1974, it was known as Villa Rosato, and rented for the summer by a notorious rock star, Noel Gordon. In an attempt to reignite his creative spark, Noel invites up-and-coming musician, Pierce Sheldon to join him, as well as Pierce’s girlfriend, Mari, and her stepsister, Lara. But he also sets in motion a chain of events that leads to Mari writing one of the greatest horror novels of all time, Lara composing a platinum album––and ends in Pierce’s brutal murder.

As Emily digs into the villa’s complicated history, she begins to think there might be more to the story of that fateful summer in 1974. That perhaps Pierce’s murder wasn’t just a tale of sex, drugs, and rock & roll gone wrong, but that something more sinister might have occurred––and that there might be clues hidden in the now-iconic works that Mari and Lara left behind.

Yet the closer that Emily gets to the truth, the more tension she feels developing between her and Chess. As secrets from the past come to light, equally dangerous betrayals from the present also emerge––and it begins to look like the villa will claim another victim before the summer ends.

Inspired by Fleetwood Mac, the Manson murders, and the infamous summer Percy and Mary Shelley spent with Lord Byron at a Lake Geneva castle––the birthplace of Frankenstein––The Villa welcomes you into its deadly legacy.

A Macmillan Audio production from St. Martin’s Press.

Review

Emily and Chess have been best friends almost their whole lives. But as they have grown older and their lives have gotten busier, their friendship has been a bit strained. Emily’s life has taken a bad turn with a divorce and her writing has completely halted. She jumps at the chance to spend the summer with Chess in an Italian Villa. But, this villa has a past. It is the home to one of the most famous murders ever.

This villa really stirs up Emily. She starts to investigate and discovers quite a bit of information. And this leads to some issues between her and Chess. And here is where the fun begins! You will have to read this to find out…with all these twists and turns. You will not be sorry!

I enjoyed so much about this novel. The famous people, the murder, the location and Emily and Chess all come together to make a twisted tale. I am still thinking about all the lies and betrayals!

This novel is narrated by a few different narrators. I do love a tag team. And this tag team included Julia Whelan. She is one of my favorites.

Need a murder mystery inspired by real murders…THIS IS IT! Grab your copy today!

I received this novel from the publisher for a honest review.

Purchase Here

Audible

Amazon

BookBub

Chirp

Advertisement

About fredreeca

I am an avid reader and paper crafter. I am a mom of 2 children, 5 dogs and 1 cat. I am a huge St. Louis Cardinals Fan
This entry was posted in Audible books, Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Villa by Rachel Hawkins @macmillanaudio #booktwitter #audiobook #audiblebook #bookreview

  1. I couldn’t get into this book.

    I’m glad it was good for you.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s