The Room on Rue Amélie by Kristin Harmel #XOXperts

For fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Martha Hall Kelly’s Lilac Girls, this powerful novel of fate, resistance, and family—by the international bestselling author of The Sweetness of Forgetting and When We Meet Again—tells the tale of an American woman, a British RAF pilot, and a young Jewish teenager whose lives intersect in occupied Paris during the tumultuous days of World War II.

When newlywed Ruby Henderson Benoit arrives in Paris in 1939 with her French husband Marcel, she imagines strolling arm in arm along the grand boulevards, awash in the golden afternoon light. But war is looming on the horizon, and as France falls to the Nazis, her marriage begins to splinter, too.

Charlotte Dacher is eleven when the Germans roll into the French capital, their sinister swastika flags snapping in the breeze. After the Jewish restrictions take effect and Jews are ordered to wear the yellow star, Charlotte can’t imagine things getting much worse. But then the mass deportations begin, and her life is ripped forever apart.

Thomas Clarke joins the British Royal Air Force to protect his country, but when his beloved mother dies in a German bombing during the waning days of the Blitz, he wonders if he’s really making a difference. Then he finds himself in Paris, in the shadow of the Eiffel Tower, and he discovers a new reason to keep fighting—and an unexpected road home.

When fate brings them together, Ruby, Charlotte, and Thomas must summon the courage to defy the Nazis—and to open their own broken hearts—as they fight to survive. Rich with historical drama and emotional depth, this is an unforgettable story that will stay with you long after the final page is turned.

Review

Ruby meets the man of her dreams, gets married, and moves to Paris. Her life is pretty grand until WWII breaks out. Her parents beg her to come back to America. She is determined to stay with her husband even though things are not what they used to be between them.

Ruby ends up helping downed pilots escape out of France. She knows it is dangerous work but she is determined to help stop the Nazis. Especially after her Jewish neighbors were taken. Ruby agrees to take in their daughter, Charlotte, to raise as her own.

Many story lines going on in this read, which I just love. There are also many wonderful characters. Charlotte and Ruby are both strong and determined to hold their own in a world falling apart around them. Thomas, the downed RAF pilot, also plays a major role in this novel. I ADORED Thomas. He is strong and gentle all at the same time.

As many of you know WWII is one of my favorite time periods and this author knows how to deliver. To me, and this is my opinion only, this read was not as good as her novel When We Meet Again. But, it is still a fabulous read. I just felt that Ruby was overly dramatic in places, especially when she talked about her husband or about Thomas. The danger surrounding Ruby and Charlotte is intense and this keeps the story moving quickly. I loved learning about the resistance and the downed pilots.

Once again! Kristin Harmel delivers with a wonderful tale! PLUS, THIS COVER IS AMAZING! COVER LOVE!

I received this book from Simon and Schuster as part of XOXPerts.

Purchase Here

Barnes and Noble

Amazon

Advertisements

About fredreeca

I am an avid reader and paper crafter. I am a mom of 2 children, 4 dogs and 1 cat. I am a huge St. Louis Cardinals Fan
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s