The Last of the Seven by Steven Hartov #fiction #bookreview @harlequinbooks

Overview

A spellbinding novel of World War II based on the little-known history of the X Troopa team of European Jews who escaped the Continent only to join the British Army and return home to exact their revenge on Hitlers military.

A lone soldier wearing a German uniform stumbles into a British military camp in the North African desert with an incredible story to tell. He is the only survivor of an undercover operation meant to infiltrate a Nazi base, trading on the soldiers’ perfect fluency in German. However, this man is not British-born but instead a German Jew seeking revenge for the deaths of his family back home in Berlin.

As the Allies advance into Europe, the young lieutenant is brought to recover in Sicily. There he is recruited by a British major to join the newly formed X Troop, a commando unit composed of German and Austrian Jews training for a top secret mission at a nearby camp in the Sicilian hills. They are all “lost boys,” driven not by patriotism but by vengeance.

Drawing on meticulous research into this unique group of soldiers, The Last of the Seven is a lyrical, propulsive historical novel perfect for readers of Mark Sullivan, Robert Harris and Alan Furst.

Review

Froelich is the only survivor of an undercover operation. When he wanders from the desert into a British camp, he is mistaken for a German soldier. After some fast talking, he is finally believed and sent to the hospital. But his war is not over. It is just beginning!

I very much enjoyed the beginning of this book. Froelich is such a tough guy and he has a big heart. His strength comes through the pages like the warrior he is! He has sustained some terrible injuries. However, through some chance encounters, he finally receives the help he needs to put him back into the line of fire.

There were parts of this book that I loved and parts I just skimmed. I usually don’t mind war books. But, I had trouble with those sections in this novel. I just could not get interested in it. But, don’t let that stop you! It was most likely me. I am very much a mood reader and I may not have been in the mood!

Need a good historical war novel…THIS IS IT! Grab your copy today!

I received this novel from the publisher for a honest review.

About the Author:

Steven Hartov is the coauthor of the New York Times bestseller In the Company of Heroes, as well as The Night Stalkers and Afghanistan on the Bounce. For six years he served as Editor-in-Chief of Special Operations Report. He has appeared on CNN, MSNBC, CNBC, FOX, and most recently the History Channel’s Secret Armies. A former Merchant Marine sailor, Israeli Defense Forces paratrooper and special operator, he is currently a Task Force Commander in the New York Guard. He lives in New Jersey

Social Links:

Author website: https://stevenhartov.com/ 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/StevenHartovAuthor 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Steven_Hartov 

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/stevenhartov_author/ 

Buy Links:

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Last-Seven-Novel-World-War/dp/1335050108/ 

Barnes & Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-last-of-the-seven-steven-hartov/1140465637?ean=9781335050106

Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/books/the-last-of-the-seven-a-novel-of-world-war-ii/9781335050106 

IndieBound: https://www.indiebound.org/book/9781335050106 

Books-A-Million: https://www.booksamillion.com/p/Last-Seven/Steven-Hartov/9781335050106

Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/the-last-of-the-seven 

AppleBooks: https://books.apple.com/us/book/the-last-of-the-seven/id1584482821 

Google Play: https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Steven_Hartov_The_Last_of_the_Seven?id=0S5BEAAAQBAJ 

Libro.FM: https://libro.fm/audiobooks/9781488214332-the-last-of-the-seven?bookstore=ggpbooks 

Indigo: https://www.chapters.indigo.ca/en-ca/books/the-last-of-the-seven/9781335050106-item.html

About fredreeca

I am an avid reader and paper crafter. I am a mom of 2 children, 5 dogs and 1 cat. I am a huge St. Louis Cardinals Fan
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s