The Wedding Veil by Kristy Woodson Harvey @gallerybooks @kristywharvey #bookreview #5starreview #fiction

Overview

The New York Times bestselling author of Under the Southern Sky and the Peachtree Bluff series brings “her signature wit, charm, and heart” (Woman’s World) to this sweeping new novel following four women across generations, bound by a beautiful wedding veil and a connection to the famous Vanderbilt family.

Four women. One family heirloom. A secret connection that will change their lives—and history as they know it. 

Present Day: Julia Baxter’s wedding veil, bequeathed to her great-grandmother by a mysterious woman on a train in the 1930s, has passed through generations of her family as a symbol of a happy marriage. But on the morning of her wedding day, something tells her that even the veil’s good luck isn’t enough to make her marriage last forever. Overwhelmed and panicked, she escapes to the Virgin Islands to clear her head. Meanwhile, her grandmother Babs is also feeling shaken. Still grieving the death of her beloved husband, she decides to move out of the house they once shared and into a retirement community. Though she hopes it’s a new beginning, she does not expect to run into an old flame, dredging up the same complicated emotions she felt a lifetime ago.

1914: Socialite Edith Vanderbilt is struggling to manage the luxurious Biltmore Estate after the untimely death of her cherished husband. With 250 rooms to oversee and an entire village dependent on her family to stay afloat, Edith is determined to uphold the Vanderbilt legacy—and prepare her free-spirited daughter Cornelia to inherit it—in spite of her family’s deteriorating financial situation. But Cornelia has dreams of her own. Asheville, North Carolina has always been her safe haven away from the prying eyes of the press, but as she explores more of the rapidly changing world around her, she’s torn between upholding tradition and pursuing the exciting future that lies beyond Biltmore’s gilded gates.

In the vein of Therese Anne Fowler’s A Well-Behaved Woman and Jennifer Robson’s The Gown, The Wedding Veil brings to vivid life a group of remarkable women forging their own paths—and explores the mystery of a national heirloom lost to time.

Review

Julia is about to get married. She has been with her fiancé FOREVER! However, something surprisingly happens and Julia does a “runaway bride”. She will not go through this anymore. She heads to her honeymoon by herself. She plans to reflect and decide where to go from here. But, life has a way of setting things right.

I have loved this author since her first Peachtree Bluff book, Slightly South of Simple But this one tops the charts with me! The Biltmore has always been a favorite place for me. So, the way the author incorporates the history of the Vanderbilts and the Biltmore is fabulous. I also love the dual timelines. Each timeline supports the other and creates a wonderful tale!

Then there are the characters…oh my! I love Julia. She is damaged, indecisive, and a bit scatterbrained. But, she pulls it off in the end…you must read this to find out! Add in her family and their cute little quips and interactions and you have a wonderful story you will not want to put down!

Need a great present day historical mystery with fantastic characters …THIS IS IT! Grab your copy today!

I received this novel from the publisher for a honest review.

Purchase Here

Barnes and Noble

Amazon

About fredreeca

I am an avid reader and paper crafter. I am a mom of 2 children, 5 dogs and 1 cat. I am a huge St. Louis Cardinals Fan
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Wedding Veil by Kristy Woodson Harvey @gallerybooks @kristywharvey #bookreview #5starreview #fiction

  1. Thank you SO much for reading & reviewing The Wedding Veil!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s