The Summer Country by Laura Willig

Overview

A brilliant, multigenerational saga in the tradition of THE THORN BIRDS and NORTH AND SOUTH, New York Timesbestselling historical novelist Lauren Willig delivers her biggest, boldest, and most ambitious novel yet—a sweeping Victorian epic of lost love, lies, jealousy, and rebellion set in colonial Barbados.

Barbados, 1854: Emily Dawson has always been the poor cousin in a prosperous English merchant clan– merely a vicar’s daughter, and a reform-minded vicar’s daughter, at that. Everyone knows that the family’s lucrative shipping business will go to her cousin, Adam, one day.  But when her grandfather dies, Emily receives an unexpected inheritance: Peverills, a sugar plantation in Barbados—a plantation her grandfather never told anyone he owned. 

When Emily accompanies her cousin and his new wife to Barbados, she finds Peverills a burnt-out shell, reduced to ruins in 1816, when a rising of enslaved people sent the island up in flames. Rumors swirl around the derelict plantation; people whisper of ghosts.

Why would her practical-minded grandfather leave her a property in ruins?  Why are the neighboring plantation owners, the Davenants, so eager to acquire Peverills? The answer lies in the past— a tangled history of lies, greed, clandestine love, heartbreaking betrayal, and a bold bid for freedom.

THE SUMMER COUNTRY will beguile readers with its rendering of families, heartbreak, and the endurance of hope against all odds. 

Review

Emily finds herself the unexpected owner of a sugar plantation in Barbados. When she arrives in Barbados she finds the plantation a burned out shell. Emily, for the life of her, cannot figure out why her grandfather left this rundown plantation to her.

The setting of Barbados in the 1800’s is definitely unique. Slavery on a sugar plantation in colonial Barbados is an extremely interesting time period. Lots of research went into this tale. And Emily! She is a no nonsense, take no prisoners kind of gal…within reason. She knows how to use her head!

This is not my favorite book by Laura Willig. Starts very slow. I put it down because I just could not get into it. But, I did go back and pick it up a couple of weeks later. Sometimes a book just needs to hit you at the right time. The story did pick up as I moved into the novel. Lots of intriguing questions arise… family secrets, greed, ghosts….yes ghosts! Keeps you guessing till the end!

Purchase Here

Barnes and Noble

Amazon

About fredreeca

I am an avid reader and paper crafter. I am a mom of 2 children, 5 dogs and 1 cat. I am a huge St. Louis Cardinals Fan
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Summer Country by Laura Willig

  1. I ALWAYS love family secrets, and this was a good one. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing.

  2. Pingback: Literary Friday ya’ll… – Traveling With T

  3. Pingback: My June Reads Wrap-up #reviews #5starreads | reecaspieces

  4. I tend to like historically based romance novels…Most likely Farley Hill plantation house was a bit of inspiration for this one. It was burnt, still a ruins to this day and full of mystery, and perhaps some ghosts. 😲 it has been the scene of films as well I am told, and Barbados itself makes for romance and hot blood at times. 🙂 Must put this on my list to read in the future. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s