Just Between Us by Rebecca Drake

Overview

Four suburban mothers and friends conspire to cover up a deadly crime in this heart-stopping novel of suspense in the tradition of Lisa Scottoline and Lisa Unger.

Alison, Julie, Sarah, Heather. Four friends living the suburban ideal. Their jobs are steady, their kids are healthy. They’re as beautiful as their houses. But each of them has a dirty little secret, and hidden behind the veneer of their perfect lives is a crime and a mystery that will consume them all.

Everything starts to unravel when Alison spots a nasty bruise on Heather’s wrist. She shares her suspicions with Julie and Sarah, compelling all three to investigate what looks like an increasingly violent marriage. As mysterious injuries and erratic behavior mount, Heather can no longer deny the abuse, but she refuses to leave her husband. Desperate to save her, Alison and the others dread the phone call telling them that she’s been killed. But when that call finally comes, it’s not Heather who’s dead. In a moment they’ll come to regret, the women must decide what lengths they’ll go to in order to help a friend.

Just Between Us is a thrilling glimpse into the underbelly of suburbia, where not all neighbors can be trusted, and even the closest friends keep dangerous secrets. You never really know what goes on in another person’s mind, or in their marriage.

Review

Four friends, with nice families, or so it seems. Heather apparently is being abused and it sends all these friends into high alert, as it should. They are constantly on the look out for new bruises and new ways to help her get out of this abusive relationship. But, how far will they go to protect Heather?

The story starts off pretty well. I was reeled in nicely. I liked all the characters in the beginning, then there is a phone call. This is when I began a split between me and the characters. These ladies are smart but they proceed to do something so stupid and out of character. It was almost a deal breaker between me and the book.

However, I am glad I finished the novel. I did have most of it figured out, that is, until the very end. Did not see part of it coming. I do enjoy being surprised and the author surprised me pretty good with the final twist.

Like I said earlier, these characters frustrated the devil out of me. This did taint the book for me at the first. (I rolled my eyes plenty). But, this a quick read with plenty of action and lots of emotion. And if you can’t trust your friends, who can you trust?

I received this novel from Netgalley for a honest review

Purchase Here

Barnes and Noble

Amazon

Advertisements

About fredreeca

I am an avid reader and paper crafter. I am a mom of 2 children, 4 dogs and 1 cat. I am a huge St. Louis Cardinals Fan
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s