Wonderland by Jennifer Hillier #XOXperts

  
OVERVIEW

Fans of Chelsea Cain and Lisa Gardner will devour this edgy thriller about the gruesome secrets hidden beneath a small-town amusement park. From the author of Creep, Freak, and The Butcher, Jennifer Hillier’s “fine knack for creating hideous killers” (Booklist) is vividly on display.

Welcome to Wonderland. By day, it’s a magical place boasting a certain retro charm. Excited children, hands sticky with cotton candy, run frenetically from the Giant Octopus ride to the Spinning Sombrero, while the tinkling carnival music of the giant Wonder Wheel—the oldest Ferris wheel in the Pacific Northwest—fills the air. But before daybreak, an eerie feeling descends. Maybe it’s the Clown Museum, home to creepy wax replicas of movie stars and a massive collection of antique porcelain dolls. Or maybe it’s the terrifyingly real House of Horrors. Or…maybe it’s the dead, decaying body left in the midway for all the Wonder Workers to see.

Vanessa Castro’s first day as deputy police chief of Seaside, Washington, is off to a bang. The unidentifiable homeless man rotting inside the tiny town’s main tourist attraction is strange enough, but now a teenage employee—whose defiant picture at the top of the Wonder Wheel went viral that same morning—is missing. As the clues in those seemingly disparate crimes lead her down a mysterious shared path of missing persons that goes back decades, she suspects the seedy rumors surrounding the amusement park’s dark history might just be true. She moved to Seaside to escape her own scandalous past, but has she brought her family to the center of an insidious killer’s twisted game? Acclaimed author Jennifer Hillier’s bone-chilling thriller is masterful and fast-paced, hurtling toward a shocking, bloody conclusion.

REVIEW

Vanessa has new job as deputy chief of Seaside, Washington. A small, quiet town with an amusement park called Wonderland.  Wonderland is not all it’s cracked up to be.  Vanessa realizes boys have been missing for years and the trail leads to Wonderland. 

This is a sneaky read. You know something is going on, but you are not quite sure what it is. You think you know who the culprit is, then it changes on you. I enjoy books like this and this one kept me entertained all the way through.

Wonderland is an excellent setting for this story.  The doll museum is creepy and the author did a great job with that eerie place!! I visualized all kinds of weird and  disturbing dolls…keep you up at night creepy!! 

The characters absolutely make the book. There are quite a few “crazies” in this tale. And Vanessa is a strong, female lead…and I just love her.  I really hope the author uses her in another book. 

If you need a mild to moderate creepy, psycho tale, this is the one for you. 

  I received this novel from Simon and Schuster as XOXPERT  

PURCHASE HERE 

Barnes and Noble

Amazon

Advertisements

About fredreeca

I am an avid reader and paper crafter. I am a mom of 2 children, 4 dogs and 1 cat. I am a huge St. Louis Cardinals Fan
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wonderland by Jennifer Hillier #XOXperts

  1. macjam47 says:

    That cover is SCARY!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s