The Gingerbread Girl by Shelia Newberry 


Overview 

ALL SHE WANTED WAS A HOME FOR CHRISTMAS
London, 1936

Ill and stuck in hospital at Christmas, seven year old Cora Kelly is excited to receive a visit from her mother, who brings her the gift of a gingerbread man. But little does Cora know that this will be the last time she sees her . . .
As Cora continues her recovery on a farm in the beautiful Norfolk countryside, tragedy strikes her family and she moves back to London with her new guardian, Eliza.

Here they live a happy, if simple, life. But, as the Second World War approaches, and the past comes knocking, everything changes.

Will Cora be able to escape the inevitable, or is she destined to repeat her parent’s mistakes?

For fans of Katie Flynn and Sheila Jeffries, The Gingerbread Girl is a heart-warming, festive novel from the Queen of family saga, Sheila Newberry. 

Review

I love the setting of this read. 1936 London, doesn’t get much better than that! 

Cora is a small child when her mother dies.  She and her little sister are taken in by her mother’s best friend Eliza. Cora’s dad enters the picture after years away. He wants to become a good father.  Will Cora forgive him for his absence? Will she accept him and allow him in her life? 

 Cora is such a sweet, kind child. She wants to always do the right thing.  She really makes the tale enjoyable. I fell in love with her.  Eliza is also a strong character. She takes these children in and gives them all the love and protection she can. This is a story about family, overcoming obstacles life throws your way. Through love, hard work and understanding, life can be good!

 This book reads more like a young adult book.  It is simple and predictable in places. However, it is a heartfelt story which leaves you feeling all warm and fuzzy. A good read for Christmas. 

I received this novel from Netgalley for a honest review.


Purchase here 

Amazon


Advertisements

About fredreeca

I am an avid reader and paper crafter. I am a mom of 2 children, 4 dogs and 1 cat. I am a huge St. Louis Cardinals Fan
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s