The Canterbury Sisters by Kim Wright #XOXperts 

  

Overview

In the vein of Jojo Moyes and Cheryl Strayed’s Wild, a warm and touching novel about a woman who embarks on a pilgrimage to Canterbury Cathedral after losing her mother, sharing life lessons—in the best Chaucer tradition—with eight other women along the way.

Che Milan’s life is falling apart. Not only has her longtime lover abruptly dumped her, but her eccentric, demanding mother has recently died. When an urn of ashes arrives, along with a note reminding Che of a half-forgotten promise to take her mother to Canterbury, Che finds herself reluctantly undertaking a pilgrimage.

Within days she joins a group of women who are walking the sixty miles from London to the shrine of Becket in Canterbury Cathedral, reputed to be the site of miracles. In the best Chaucer tradition, the women swap stories as they walk, each vying to see who can best describe true love. Che, who is a perfectionist and workaholic, loses her cell phone at the first stop and is forced to slow down and really notice the world around her, perhaps for the first time in years.

Through her adventures along the trail, Che finds herself opening up to new possibilities in life and discovers that the miracles of Canterbury can take surprising forms.

Review

Che has had some bad experiences lately. Her mother died and her boyfriend dumped her. At her mother’s last request, she walks the Caterbury trail to spread her mother’s ashes. Che heads to London and on to Canterbury for an experience she will never forget. 

This book really has a lot to say. This is a smart and sometimes quirky read. The characters are many,  but each with different stories to take the reader through a wonderful journey of life lessons. 

I was very impressed with the research the author did to tell this story. I felt like I was walking the Canterbury trail  along with the characters.  Needless to say…that has now been added to my bucket list. 

 This is a book, when you sit down to read it, you look up and you have read 30 pages. Moves very well and is so entertaining it is hard to put it down. 

 

I received this novel from Simon and Schuster XOXperts (LOVE LOVE LOVE BEING AN XOXpert!!!)

Purchase here 

Barnes and Noble

Amazon

Advertisements

About fredreeca

I am an avid reader and paper crafter. I am a mom of 2 children, 4 dogs and 1 cat. I am a huge St. Louis Cardinals Fan
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Canterbury Sisters by Kim Wright #XOXperts 

  1. macjam47 says:

    With a beautiful cover like that, the inside has to be great too.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s