The Other Einstein by Marie Benedict


Overview

A vivid and mesmerizing novel about the extraordinary woman who married and worked with one of the greatest scientists in history.

What secrets may have lurked in the shadows of Albert Einstein’s fame? His first wife, Mileva “Mitza” Marić, was more than the devoted mother of their three children—she was also a brilliant physicist in her own right, and her contributions to the special theory of relativity have been hotly debated for more than a century.

In 1896, the extraordinarily gifted Mileva is the only woman studying physics at an elite school in Zürich. There, she falls for charismatic fellow student Albert Einstein, who promises to treat her as an equal in both love and science. But as Albert’s fame grows, so too does Mileva’s worry that her light will be lost in her husband’s shadow forever.

A literary historical in the tradition of The Paris Wife and Mrs. Poe, The Other Einstein reveals a complicated partnership that is as fascinating as it is troubling.

Review

A truly fascinating read. I enjoyed so many things about this book, the science, the time period and the characters. 

I love learning when I read. I guess that is why I find historical fiction so appealing. This is a wonderful book that fits the bill! I never knew Einstein was married to another physicist. What a strong woman Mileva must have been. To succeed during an era where only men were allowed to, was an amazing feat indeed. Then to get divorced! She was truly ahead of her time. 

The only reason I give this 4 stars is I wanted more! It is a fiction book and I understand that. But, I wanted to feel more attached to Mileva. I wanted more embellishments.

This is still an amazing and intriguing read! It is not to be missed by any historical fiction reader!

I received this novel from Netgalley for a honest review 

Purchase Here 

Barnes and Noble

Amazon

Advertisements

About fredreeca

I am an avid reader and paper crafter. I am a mom of 2 children, 4 dogs and 1 cat. I am a huge St. Louis Cardinals Fan
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Other Einstein by Marie Benedict

  1. macjam47 says:

    This is a must read for me. It sounds fascinating.

  2. Excellent review. I can’t imagine being cast in the shadows after all her precedent-setting accomplishments. My soapbox is itching to come out, but I will refrain to say, you have peaked my interest.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s