The Codebreaker’s Secret by Sara Ackerman @harlequinbooks #historicalfiction #5starreads #bookreview

Overview


Dual-timeline historical fiction for fans of Chanel Cleeton and Beatriz Williams, THE CODEBREAKER’S SECRET is a story of codebreaking, secrets, murder, romance and longing.


1943 HONOLULU
Cryptanalysist Isabel Cooper manuevers herself into a job at Station Hypo after the attack on Pearl Harbor, determined to make a difference in the war effort and defeat the Japanese Army by breaking their coded transmissions. When the only other female codebreaker at the station goes missing, Isabel suspects it has something to do with Operation Vengeance, which took out a major enemy target, but she can’t prove it. And with the pilot she thought she was falling for reassigned to a different front, Isabel walks away from it all.


1965 MAUNA KEA BEACH HOTEL
Rookie journalist Lucy Medeiras has her foot in the door for her dream job when she lands the assignment to cover the grand opening of Rockefeller’s new hotel–the most expensive ever built. The week of celebrations is attended by celebrities and politicians, but Lucy gets off on the wrong foot with a cranky experienced reporter from New York named Matteo Russi. When a high-profile guest goes missing, and the ensuing search uncovers a decades-old skeleton in the lava fields, the story gets interesting, and Lucy teams up with Matteo to look into it. Something in Matteo’s memory leads them on a hunt that involves a senatorial candidate, old codes from WWII, and Matteo’s old flame, a woman named Isabel.

Review

Isabel has finally been sent to Hawaii to work on the coded transmissions. She has been trying to be stationed here for a while. She wants to see where and how her brother, Walt, was killed. She meets Walt’s best friend, Matteo. They become fast friends and as things begin to grow, the war heats up and their lives change.

Fast forward to 1965. Lucy is a native Hawaiian. She has been sent by her magazine to cover the opening of Rockefeller’s new hotel. She ends up meeting a famous photo journalist, Matteo. When these two come across and old skeleton, Matteo realizes it could possibly be a friend of Isabel’s from the 1940s.

I loved the dual time lines in this novel. Not everyone enjoys those and not every author can do them properly. I enjoyed how they intertwined and eventually came together. So, Sara Ackerman got it right!

If this author is not on your radar….put her there! She truly has you picturing all the beauty and wilds of Hawaii. Plus, her stories have fabulous characters and a great mysteries to boot!

This has been my favorite novel by this author. All her novels are wonderful. But I loved Matteo and Izzy.

Need an awesome historical fiction with a beautiful setting…THIS IS IT! Grab your copy today!

Author Bio:


Sara Ackerman is a USA TODAY bestselling author who writes books about love and life, and all of their messy and beautiful imperfections. She believes that the light is just as important as the dark, and that the world is in need of uplifting stories. Born and raised in Hawaii, she studied journalism and later earned graduate degrees in psychology and Chinese medicine. She blames Hawaii for her addiction to writing, and sees no end to its

untapped stories. Find out more about Sara and her books at http://www.ackermanbooks.com and follow her on Instagram @saraackermanbooks and on FB @ackermanbooks.

Author Website: https://www.ackermanbooks.com/ Facebook: @ackermanbooks
Twitter: @AckermanBooks
Instagram: @saraackermanbooks

About fredreeca

I am an avid reader and paper crafter. I am a mom of 2 children, 5 dogs and 1 cat. I am a huge St. Louis Cardinals Fan
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Codebreaker’s Secret by Sara Ackerman @harlequinbooks #historicalfiction #5starreads #bookreview

  1. Nice review!!

    It was a good one.

Leave a Reply to Elizabeth @Silver's Reviews Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s