Reckless Girls by Rachel Hawkins @macmillanaudio @stmartinspress #bookreview #fiction #audiblebook #audiobook

Overview

From Rachel Hawkins, the New York Times best-selling author of The Wife Upstairs, comes Reckless Girls, a deliciously wicked gothic suspense, set on an isolated Pacific island with a dark history, for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware.

When Lux McAllister and her boyfriend, Nico, are hired to sail two women to a remote island in the South Pacific, it seems like the opportunity of a lifetime. Stuck in a dead-end job in Hawaii, and longing to travel the world after a family tragedy, Lux is eager to climb on board The Susannah and set out on an adventure. She’s also quick to bond with their passengers, college best friends Brittany and Amma. The two women say they want to travel off the beaten path. But like Lux, they may have other reasons to be seeking an escape.

Shimmering on the horizon after days at sea, Meroe Island is every bit the paradise the foursome expects, despite a mysterious history of shipwrecks, cannibalism, and even rumors of murder. But what they don’t expect is to discover another boat already anchored off Meroe’s sandy beaches. The owners of the Azure Sky, Jake and Eliza, are a true golden couple: gorgeous, laidback, and if their sleek catamaran and well-stocked bar are any indication, rich. Now a party of six, the new friends settle in to experience life on an exotic island, and the serenity of being completely off the grid. Lux hasn’t felt like she truly belonged anywhere in years, yet here on Meroe, with these fellow free spirits, she finally has a sense of peace.

But with the arrival of a skeevy stranger sailing alone in pursuit of a darker kind of good time, the balance of the group is disrupted. Soon, cracks begin to emerge: it seems that Brittany and Amma haven’t been completely honest with Lux about their pasts – and perhaps not even with each other. And though Jake and Eliza seem like the perfect pair, the rocky history of their relationship begins to resurface, and their reasons for sailing to Meroe might not be as innocent as they first appeared.

When it becomes clear that the group is even more cut off from civilization than they initially thought, it starts to feel like the island itself is closing in on them. And when one person goes missing, and another turns up dead, Lux begins to wonder if any of them are going to make it off the island alive.

Review

Lux and Nico have been hired to take two young women to a remote island in the pacific. It sounds like fun and a unique adventure. Until it is not! All is well for the first few days, then things change. Will they come out of this alive?!?!

I have to say, this is a very unique premise for a story. Who wouldn’t want to go to a remote island for a few days to escape. It sounds magical. And at first, it was. Then the intensity of the whole tale changes and the story takes a very different twist.

I enjoyed this author’s last book, The Wife Upstairs . This book was good just not as good as that one…clear as mud. Anyway, I was just not a fan of any of these characters. There was not a single appealing one in the bunch. Lux almost changes personalities in the middle of the story, and not to someone I liked. However, I did enjoy the setting of the remote island and the history surrounding this location.

The narrator, Barrie Kreinik excelled with all the voices. Plus, she kept the intensity level going all the way through this novel.

Need a good novel set in a remote location with just strange things happening…this is it! Grab your copy today.

I received this novel from the publisher for an honest opinion.

Purchase here

Chirp

Barnes and Noble

Amazon

Audible

About fredreeca

I am an avid reader and paper crafter. I am a mom of 2 children, 5 dogs and 1 cat. I am a huge St. Louis Cardinals Fan
This entry was posted in Audible books, Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reckless Girls by Rachel Hawkins @macmillanaudio @stmartinspress #bookreview #fiction #audiblebook #audiobook

  1. Nice review….I didn’t like this book at all. In fact, I stopped reading. Not my cup of tea.

    I was disappointed since I really liked THE WIFE UPSTAIRS.

    Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s