The Witch of Willow Hall by Hester Fox

Overview

Two centuries after the Salem witch trials, there’s still one witch left in Massachusetts. But she doesn’t even know it.

Take this as a warning: if you are not able or willing to control yourself, it will not only be you who suffers the consequences, but those around you, as well.

New Oldbury, 1821

In the wake of a scandal, the Montrose family and their three daughters—Catherine, Lydia and Emeline—flee Boston for their new country home, Willow Hall.

The estate seems sleepy and idyllic. But a subtle menace creeps into the atmosphere, remnants of a dark history that call to Lydia, and to the youngest, Emeline.

All three daughters will be irrevocably changed by what follows, but none more than Lydia, who must draw on a power she never knew she possessed if she wants to protect those she loves. For Willow Hall’s secrets will rise, in the end…

“Hester Fox’s THE WITCH OF WILLOW HALL offers a fascinating location, a great plot with history and twists, and characters that live and breathe. I love the novel, and will be looking forward to all new works by this talented author!” –Heather Graham, New York Times bestselling author

“Beautifully written, skillfully plotted, and filled with quiet terror, readers will devour this absorbing, Gothic tale of romance and suspense. Perfect for fans of Simone St James and Kate Morton.” — Anna Lee Huber, the national bestselling author of the historical Lady Darby Mysteries

“Beautifully written, with an intriguing plot full of suspense and mystery, The Witch of Willow Hall will cast a spell over every reader.” — Lisa Hall, author of Tell Me No Lies and Between You and Me

“I was entranced by this intriguing and spellbinding novel with its messages of love and loyalty and being true to who you really are. I hope Hester Fox goes on to write many more such novels–I for one will be buying them.” — Kathleen McGurl, author of The Girl from Ballymor

“With its sense of creeping menace and chilling undertones, this compelling story had me gripped from the first page. The vividly drawn characters cast their spell so convincingly, I couldn’t stop reading until I discovered what happened to them. A wonderful debut novel.”–Linda Finlay, author of The Flower Seller.

Review

Catherine, Lydia and Emeline are the three Montrose sisters. Catherine carries a huge secret. And Lydia and Emeline have a strange bond, a beyond sisters bond. They can make things happen, especially when they are angry. The Montrose family is run out of Boston because of a terrible scandal. They move into their summer home in New Oldbury called Willow Hall. It is an odd place. Strange sounds and noises create a creepy place for the family home.

“What a tangled web we weave when first we practice to deceive”. This was the first quote that came to mind as I was reading this novel. Everyone is keeping secrets, Catherine, her mother and their dad’s business partner, John. Catherine causes all of the problems this family is having. The author keeps her secret hidden for a good while. And when it is revealed….it is cringeworthy! John has many secrets surrounding his past, a family tragedy which is not as it seems. Then there is the mother. She knows all about Emeline and Lydia and she is not sharing!

This story is not as witchy as it is made out to be. It has a good many ghosts though and I adore a good ghost story. It is beautifully written with a thousand twists and turns. This story is perfect for a cold night in front of a fire!

Purchase Here

Barnes and Noble

Amazon

Advertisements

About fredreeca

I am an avid reader and paper crafter. I am a mom of 2 children, 4 dogs and 1 cat. I am a huge St. Louis Cardinals Fan
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Witch of Willow Hall by Hester Fox

  1. Holly B / Dressedtoread says:

    Great review! It did have many surprises!

  2. Pingback: Literary Friday ya’ll….. – Traveling With T

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s