The Subway Girls by Susie Orman Schnall

D1C182C7-A687-4986-8E36-8A0D70AA7868

Overview

Schnall has written a book that is smart and timely…Feels perfect for fans of Beatriz Williams and Liza Klaussmann.” —Taylor Jenkins Reid, acclaimed author of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

“A fast-paced, clever novel filled with romantic possibilities, high-stakes decisions, and harsh realities. Perfect for fans of Fiona Davis’s The Dollhouse, this engrossing tale highlights the role that ambition, sexism, and true love will forever play in women’s lives.” —Amy Poeppel, author of Small Admissions

In 1949, dutiful and ambitious Charlotte’s dream of a career in advertising is shattered when her father demands she help out with the family business. Meanwhile, Charlotte is swept into the glamorous world of the Miss Subways beauty contest, which promises irresistible opportunities with its Park Avenue luster and local fame status. But when her new friend—the intriguing and gorgeous fellow-participant Rose—does something unforgivable, Charlotte must make a heart-wrenching decision that will change the lives of those around her forever.

Nearly 70 years later, outspoken advertising executive Olivia is pitching the NYC subways account in a last ditch effort to save her job at an advertising agency. When the charismatic boss she’s secretly in love with pits her against her misogynistic nemesis, Olivia’s urgent search for the winning strategy leads her to the historic Miss Subways campaign. As the pitch date closes in on her, Olivia finds herself dealing with a broken heart, an unlikely new love interest, and an unexpected personal connection to Miss Subways that could save her job—and her future.

The Subway Girls is the charming story of two strong women, a generation apart, who find themselves up against the same eternal struggle to find an impossible balance between love, happiness, and ambition.

Review

Olivia is in competition to win an add campaign for NYC Transit Authority. She comes across an old add campaign called The Subway Girls. This leads her to find more than just history.  It could lead her to find love!

This story rotates between the present and the past, between Charlotte and Olivia.  Charlotte was an original subway girl. She has her own tale to weave. And it intersects with Olivia, very conveniently, I might add. I do not want to give anything away…just read the book!

Olivia is not one of my favorite characters.  She makes some really stupid decisions and she does not fight for herself like I expect her to. She is in advertising. A very competitive profession. She does not seem to have the edge needed to be where she is.

I enjoy the flow of this book. The rotation between time periods is superbly done.  There is almost a cliff hanger after every chapter and this kept me reading faster and faster. I also love the history in this tale.  I actually researched more about the subways girls original add campaign. I love a book that’s has me researching!

Don’t miss this one!

 

img_0936-2

C425E60A-0048-4AB1-92E4-97809C09CA0D

Purchase Here

Barnes and Noble

Amazon

 

Advertisements

About fredreeca

I am an avid reader and paper crafter. I am a mom of 2 children, 4 dogs and 1 cat. I am a huge St. Louis Cardinals Fan
This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Subway Girls by Susie Orman Schnall

  1. Wonderful review, Reeca! I can’t wait to read this one!

  2. Terrific review!!

    I loved the cliffhangers too.

    Totally agree with you…do NOT miss reading this one. It is an unknown piece of history brought alive. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s