$10 Junk Find Redo! 

 Before

  
 After!

 

  I used some left over chalk board paint from a different project and added the Cricut Vinyl! 

Love it!!

Thanks for stopping by! 

Posted in Cricut | Tagged , | 2 Comments

The Ghosts of Peppernell Manor by Amy M. Reade

 
Overview

 “Do you know what stories Sarah could tell you about the things that happened in these little cabins? They’d curl that pretty red hair of yours.” 
Outside of Charleston, South Carolina, beyond hanging curtains of Spanish moss, at the end of a shaded tunnel of overarching oaks, stands the antebellum mansion of Peppernell Manor in all its faded grandeur. At the request of her friend Evie Peppernell, recently divorced Carleigh Warner and her young daughter Lucy have come to the plantation house to refurbish the interior. But the tall white columns and black shutters hide a dark history of slavery, violence, and greed. The ghost of a former slave is said to haunt the home, and Carleigh is told she disapproves of her restoration efforts. And beneath the polite hospitality of the Peppernell family lie simmering resentments and poisonous secrets that culminate in murder—and place Carleigh and her child in grave danger…

Review

Carleigh is offered a job to refurbish Peppernell Manor.  This job takes an unexpected turn or two. With a ghost and a jealous husband, Carleigh must fight for her life. 

The story is ok. I expected more of a ghost story and less of a jealous husband.  The characters, however, are one dimensional and overly dramatic. There are several places they state the obvious…I even rolled my eyes on a few. 

The setting is wonderful and the house on the cover is not at all what I pictured in my head as I was reading. I pictured a more traditional southern plantation home. 

This book fell a little short for me.  I wanted so much more.

I received this book from Netgalley for an honest review. 

 

Purchase here

Barnes and Noble

Amazon

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Smut by Matt Micheli 

  

Smut

By Matt Micheli

Genre: Psychological (Transgressive with strong sexual encounters and hints of horror)

Brief Description:

On the outside, Sam has it all: money, good-looks, youth. His life is fueled by an endless supply of drugs, alcohol, sex–anything and everything to keep his mind off of what he struggles to keep hidden away: a troubled past as well as recurring disturbing psychotic visions. Strange things begin to happen to Sam causing his diagnosed anxiety to grow into paranoia. To make things worse, brutally mutilated bodies are being discovered around the city and no one seems to care.Experiencing what it is to come full-fledge into adulthood–love, lust, loss, rejection, denial–Sam realizes money and good looks aren’t everything and sometimes what you’re running from is closer than you think.

Review 

What a dark, wicked read.

 Sam basically has it all, with his good looks and his money, nothing is stopping him, until… Then the bodies start showing up.

This book just keeps delivering. I was so caught in Sam’s world, it was hard to stop! This is a wild ride indeed! 

Author Bio:

  
Matt Micheli is a writer out of Austin, TX, Wild Card Winner of the 2012 Halloween Book Festival. He has several fiction and non-fiction pieces featured in various literary magazines and is a multi-contributor to ManArchy Magazine, Revolt Daily, and Paragraph Line. He is a loving husband and father by night and takes on one of many corporate-America faces by day. You will find him either behind his computer writing words or at the nearest bar, either way with a stiff cocktail close by..

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/mattmicheliworld?fref=nf

Twitter: https://twitter.com/micheliworld

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B004GN70IC

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4112558.Matt_Micheli

Website: http://www.mattmicheli.com

Posted in Reviews | Tagged | Leave a comment

Christmas in June 

I have a accumulated lot of Washi tape.  Almost all of it was a free prize or came in a kit. I have not been a huge fan of the tape so…I have a good bit of it. I came across a Christmas tree out of Washi tape on Pinterest and thought it would look good on a card. 

It is not half bad!! 

 
Thanks for stopping by!!!  

Posted in Cards, Christmas | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Canterbury Sisters by Kim Wright #XOXperts 

  

Overview

In the vein of Jojo Moyes and Cheryl Strayed’s Wild, a warm and touching novel about a woman who embarks on a pilgrimage to Canterbury Cathedral after losing her mother, sharing life lessons—in the best Chaucer tradition—with eight other women along the way.

Che Milan’s life is falling apart. Not only has her longtime lover abruptly dumped her, but her eccentric, demanding mother has recently died. When an urn of ashes arrives, along with a note reminding Che of a half-forgotten promise to take her mother to Canterbury, Che finds herself reluctantly undertaking a pilgrimage.

Within days she joins a group of women who are walking the sixty miles from London to the shrine of Becket in Canterbury Cathedral, reputed to be the site of miracles. In the best Chaucer tradition, the women swap stories as they walk, each vying to see who can best describe true love. Che, who is a perfectionist and workaholic, loses her cell phone at the first stop and is forced to slow down and really notice the world around her, perhaps for the first time in years.

Through her adventures along the trail, Che finds herself opening up to new possibilities in life and discovers that the miracles of Canterbury can take surprising forms.

Review

Che has had some bad experiences lately. Her mother died and her boyfriend dumped her. At her mother’s last request, she walks the Caterbury trail to spread her mother’s ashes. Che heads to London and on to Canterbury for an experience she will never forget. 

This book really has a lot to say. This is a smart and sometimes quirky read. The characters are many,  but each with different stories to take the reader through a wonderful journey of life lessons. 

I was very impressed with the research the author did to tell this story. I felt like I was walking the Canterbury trail  along with the characters.  Needless to say…that has now been added to my bucket list. 

 This is a book, when you sit down to read it, you look up and you have read 30 pages. Moves very well and is so entertaining it is hard to put it down. 

 

I received this novel from Simon and Schuster XOXperts (LOVE LOVE LOVE BEING AN XOXpert!!!)

Purchase here 

Barnes and Noble

Amazon

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

Juniors

As I was cleaning some in my scrap room (GASP!!!) I ran across this layout from CKC 2014…I had never completed it. Here is the finished product. The class was by Keller’s Creation. The colors of the paper are very striking. 

   

THANKS FOR STOPPING BY!! 

Posted in Scrapbooking | Tagged , | 2 Comments

Kresley Cole The Immortal After Dark Series Spotlight #XOXperts

  

RITA Award-winning author Kresley Cole continues her bestselling Immortals After Dark series with this electrifying tale of a ruthless demon mercenary and the lovely young halfling who enchants him. 

A seductive beauty he can

never have, yet can’t resist… 

Cadeon Woede will stop at nothing to atone for the one wrong that will haunt him forever. But once he secures the key to his redemption, the halfling Holly Ashwin, Cade finds that the woman he thought he could use for his own ends and then forget haunts him as much as his past. 

A tormented warrior she

should fear, but can’t deny… 

Raised as a human, Holly never knew that some frightening legends are real until she encounters a brutal demon who inexplicably guards her like a treasure. Thrust into a sensual new world of myth and power, with him as her protector, she begins to crave the demon’s wicked touch. 

Surrender to dark desires… 

Yet just when he earns Holly’s trust, will Cade be forced to betray the only woman who can sate his wildest needs — and claim his heart?

Purchase here 

Barnes and Noble

Amazon

 
From #1 New York Times bestselling author Kresley Cole comes a spellbinding standalone novel set in the Immortals After Dark universe: the story of a demon king trapped by an enchantress for her wanton purposes—and the scorching aftermath that follows when he turns the tables and claims her as his captive.

His obsession…

Sabine, Sorceress of Illusions: the evil beauty who surrenders her body, but not her heart.

Her downfall…

Rydstrom Woede: the ruthless warrior who vows to keep her at all costs.

They were never supposed to want each other this much…

With each smoldering encounter, their shared hunger only increases. If they can defeat the sinister enemy that stands between them, will Sabine make the ultimate sacrifice for her demon? Or will the proud king lay down his crown and arms to save his sorceress? 

Purchase here 

Barnes and Noble 
Amazon

Posted in Book Spotlight | Tagged , | Leave a comment